Friday Reflections (3 weeks in)

From when I first began pursuing teaching as a career, it has fascinated me how much I learn as an individual while teaching students. I knew my school was a good fit for my cheerfully stubborn teaching demeanor and patient but firm classroom management style since I attended an initial interview (only about 6 weeks ago!).

What has most profoundly impacted me is my students. It ought to be a no-brainer, but I was unprepared to feel so comfortable even as a minority in all of my classes. Socioeconomically, I grew up very similarly to these students, and I realized that for once in my life, I was comfortable with admitting that I grew up with very little.

No, I do not know what it’s like to experience teenage pregnancy, parents who require one’s presence as a translator in the community, the difficulty of leaving friends and family in another country, or the trials of bilingualism, but at the core of it, I do understand that life is very hard, and that most of my students will have to fight to be successful in life. I’ve had to fight too.

I knew that my universal goal of empowering students would apply to any school I taught at, but I didn’t know how strongly that need would resonate within my classes. I knew that I would care deeply for my students, but I didn’t know how deeply I’d invest my patience and belief in their potential until I met them.

It makes me wonder if it’s anything like I’ve heard motherhood described; pregnant mothers know they already love their babies, but they become unequivocally linked when they meet.

Apart from these feelings, I am overwhelmingly thankful for how well my professors prepared me for things like setting up a classroom, establishing sound routines in English, and learning to reflect on daily performance and interactions.

I love my job 🙂

Go bulldogs! Woof! Woof!

Leave a Reply

